Chess - List of World Champions

Posted in Sport

Garry Kasparov became the youngest man to win the world chess championship when he beat fellow Russian Anatoly Karpov in 1985 at age 22.

In 1993, Kasparov and then-#1 challenger Nigel Short of England broke away from the established International Chess Federation (FIDE) to form the Professional Chess Association (the PCA was disbanded in 1998). FIDE retaliated by stripping Kasparov of the world title and arranging a playoff that was won by Karpov, the former title-holder.

Karpov successfully defended the FIDE title several times before failing to show up for the 1999 FIDE World Championship Tournament that was won by Alexander Khalifman.

Indian Viswanathan Anand won the 2000 FIDE World Championship. Ruslan Ponomariov won the 2001 FIDE World Championship in Moscow and is the current FIDE World Champion.



1866-94Wilhelm Steinitz, Austria
1894-1921Emanuel Lasker, Germany
1921-27Jose Capablanca, Cuba
1927-35Alexander Alekhine, France
1935-37Max Euwe, Holland
1937-46Alexander Alekhine, France
1948-57Mikhail Botvinnik, USSR
1957-58Vassily Smyslov, USSR
1958-59Mikhail Botvinnik, USSR
1960-61Mikhail Tal, USSR
1961-63Mikhail Botvinnik, USSR
1963-69Tigran Petrosian, USSR
1969-72Boris Spassky, USSR
1972-75Bobby Fischer, USA*
1975-85Anatoly Karpov, USSR
1985-2000Garry Kasparov, RUS
2000 - Vladimir Kramnik, RUS
2002-03 Ruslan Ponomariov, UKR
2004 - Rustam Kasimdzhanov, UZB

* Fischer defaulted the championship in 1975